Davis Cup Betting Guide

The Davis Cup tennis tournament, named after the American founder of the competition, Dwight Davis, is the largest international sporting event. During the 2009 Davis Cup tennis tournament, teams from 131 countries compete against each other at venues around the world in this prestigious men’s tennis event.

The Davis Cup tennis tournament pits the world’s best tennis players against each other, creating huge fan and media interest. To spice up the event even further, many viewers like to try their hand at Davis Cup betting by wagering on the outcome of the individual rubbers and ties, as well as on which nation will win the coveted Cup itself.

Check betting odds and favourites for the 2010 Davis Cup and make the matches more exciting by visiting the William Hill’s tennis betting to place your bets.

Davis Cup 2010 World Group 5 – 7 March

Spain vs Switzerland Spain
Germany vs France France
Russia vs India Russia
Argentina vs Sweden Sweden
Ecuador vs Croatia Croatia
Chile vs Israel Chile
Belgium vs Czech Republic Belgium
Serbia vs USA Serbia

2009 Davis Cup

Davis Cup 2009 saw the 98th edition of the Davis Cup. The first matches were played in February, Czech Republic beat Croatia 4-1, and Spain defeated Israel 4-1, at the 2009 semifinals in September. The finals took place between 4 and 6 December between Spain and Czech Republic – Spain was victorious at the end defeating Czech Republic 5-0, becoming the first team in over a decade to win a final 5-0.
World Group quarter-finals were played from 10 to 12 July, 2009:

  • Czech Republic defeated Argentina 3-2
  • Croatia defeated USA 3-2
  • Israel defeated Russia 4-1
  • Spain defeated Germany 3-2

Davis Cup Structure

Run by the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the Davis Cup tennis tournament is based on a knockout format. The only exception is matches played by the lower two regional groups, which play a round robin competition. The original format, devised by Davis, is still in force today. Competition always takes place over three days, with two singles matches on day 1, a doubles match on day 2 and two more singles matches on day 3.

This is known as a “tie”. Each match within a tie is known as a “rubber”. The competition is broken up into

  • the elite World Group of 16 nations
  • 3 regional zones – Europe/Africa, America and Asia/Oceania
  • 4 groups for each regional zone

Teams are seeded and then relegated to the different groups by the ITF according to their ITF ranking.

Davis Cup History

Since its inception in 1900, the coveted Davis Cup has been won by a total of 12 different nations. The United States has dominated the tournament with 31 titles, followed by Australia with a total of 28 titles. Russia, Argentina, and Croatia currently top the ITF rankings. Read more about Davis Cup history and about Davis Cup winners.