Davis Cup Teams

USA Team

Of all Davis Cup teams, the United States has dominated. The US team has taken the trophy on 31 occasions. The USA also boasts the longest run of wins – 17 wins from 1968 to 1973 – and the record for consecutive titles, with 7 titles from 1920 to 1927.

Sweden Team

Sweden has had the most success at the Davis Cup in the 1980s and 1990s, and has won the Cup a total of seven times. Bjorn Borg, who stunned the world with his sublime tennis in the 1970s, went on to win 33 singles matches for Sweden in the Davis Cup.

Sweden has been part of the exclusive World Group every year, excluding only 2000. Team Sweden also boasts the record for the most comebacks from 0-2 down, with 5.

Russia Team

Defending champion Russia first contested the Davis Cup in 1962. Russia managed to lift the trophy on two occasions, in 2002 and 2006. In 2002, records were broken in the doubles match, when Kafelnikov and Safin battled it out with Arnold-Ker and Nalbandian from Argentina for 6 hours and 20 minutes – making it the longest recorded men’s doubles match of all time.

Germany Team

Germany first played as a Davis Cup team in 1913 and has taken the title three times – in 1988, 1989 and 1993. The team has made it to the World Group every year, bar 3.

Spain Team

With the current world number one player Rafael Nadal and world number four, David Ferrer on their side, and having competed in the World Group Finals for over 22 years, the Davis Cup Spain Team is looking stronger than ever. Spain claimed the cup in 2000 and 2004 and has been involved in the Davis Cup since 1921.